The Best Eggless Cookies

I stumbled across this recipe whilst craving something sweet and not having any eggs at home. I’ve been experimenting with baking cookies for such a long time to try and make them big, flat cookies but I was never successful, until now!

IMG_20150602_093336

Don’t they just look amazing?! Now I have to be honest with you, the first two times I baked these cookies they were perfect. I stupidly didn’t write the recipe down and a month later I’ve been baking like a mad woman trying to get my perfect cookies again. The recipe I’m going to share makes the perfect cookies, although I’ve had to put in a little trick to make them flat – as for some reason they don’t stay flat in the oven anymore! As this cookie is eggless it’s also very easy to make it vegan – just make sure you buy vegan margarine, yoghurt and chocolate.

What you need (makes six big cookies):

  • A packet of chocolate chips/half a chocolate bar (I tend to just cut up a chocolate bar, it’s a lot cheaper!)
  • 1/2 a cup of sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of flour
  • 3 Tablespoons of oil (I use sunflower oil but coconut oil is also good)
  • 2 Tablespoons of margarine
  • 4 Teaspoons of vanilla yoghurt (If you can’t find vegan yoghurt you could just substitute the yoghurt for oil)
  • 1 Teaspoon of baking powder
  • Vanilla essence or vanilla sugar

What you have to do:

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Mix the margarine and sugar and vanilla sugar/essence together until it is creamy. Add the oil and yoghurt, mix, and then slowly start adding the flour and baking powder.

Tip: I mix using the back of a spoon, that way the mixture doesn’t get stuck on the spoon.

If you find the mixture is too dry then add some more yoghurt, if you find it’s too liquidy add flour! The mixture should be slightly sticky. Cut your chocolate and mix it in.

Cover your baking tray with baking paper and brush some oil onto the paper. Put generous dollops of mixture onto your baking tray and make sure you spread them out!

20150602_085309 Push each cookie with the back of a spoon to make them flatter. Pop them in the oven for 13 minutes.

And now for the trick:

Check your cookies 2 minutes before they are done – if they look quite “fat” then push each cookie with the back of the spoon again so they are flat. Leave them in the oven for the remainder of the two minutes and then take them out. They should be slightly brown.

20150602_092901

Leave to cool and then they’re ready to eat! Let me know how your cookies turn out when you try out my recipe, I hope you enjoy them 🙂

Larissaingermany x

IMG_20150602_09333620150618_10283020150602_093013

Leave a Reply

